Skip to navigation – Site map

Regolith map of France

La carte du régolithe de France
François Prognon, Frédéric Lacquement, Caroline Ricordel-Prognon, Florence Quesnel, Pierre Nehlig, Serge Courbouleix, Jean-Pierre Quinquis, Patricia Martin, Damien Rambourg and Patrick Lebret
p. 357-362

Abstracts

Regolith formations are surficial fragmental and unconsolidated rocks whose genesis and properties result from successive periods of surface processes. They comprise:
– autochthonous formations resulting directly from successive periods of surface weathering in the upper 200 metres of the Earth’s crust;
– allochthonous formations in which the unconsolidated deposits result from weathering and transport and have not yet been affected by burial diagenesis.
Regolith studies are currently at the crossroads of new scientific challenges and new environmental needs. Not only do regolith formations support a full spectrum of biological activity, including human activities, they also provide a source of extractable materials and form the substratum of soils. As such, they should be considered as a capital to be managed and protected. Historically, geological maps have focused mainly on substratum geology. Although the inclusion of regolith formations in the 1:50,000-scale geological map series of France since the 1980s has considerably increased our knowledge of France’s regolith, this is still is patchy and generally insufficient for applied uses despite increasing societal pressures demanding up-to-date regolith maps. To produce an updated map at the scale of France is an ambitious project that must necessarily begin with an inventory of existing geological cartographic data relating to regolith formations. A digital two-layered regolith map of France, representing both the allochthonous and autochthonous formations, was produced in 2009 at a scale of 1:1,000,000. Each layer is accompanied by a confidence index map, and a brief descriptive note of the mapped formations (in French) is also available. A critical analysis of the two map layers reveals not only the very uneven nature of our current knowledge in terms of data quantity and quality, but also its deficiency as regards the expectations of the public authorities. Today, therefore, we require surface studies combining geology, geophysics and geochemistry in order to enhance our understanding of the natural processes governing the distribution and evolution of subsoil formations. This approach is critical for developing appropriate guidance in the use and management of natural and groundwater resources. The 2009 map can be viewed and interrogated at http://infoterre.brgm.fr, and a “pdf” of the map and corresponding project report can be downloaded from http://www.brgm.fr/brgm/GEO/rego.htm.

Top of page

Index terms

Top of page

References

Bibliographical reference

François Prognon, Frédéric Lacquement, Caroline Ricordel-Prognon, Florence Quesnel, Pierre Nehlig, Serge Courbouleix, Jean-Pierre Quinquis, Patricia Martin, Damien Rambourg and Patrick Lebret, « Regolith map of France », Quaternaire, vol. 22/4 | 2011, 357-362.

Electronic reference

François Prognon, Frédéric Lacquement, Caroline Ricordel-Prognon, Florence Quesnel, Pierre Nehlig, Serge Courbouleix, Jean-Pierre Quinquis, Patricia Martin, Damien Rambourg and Patrick Lebret, « Regolith map of France », Quaternaire [Online], vol. 22/4 | 2011, Online since 01 December 2014, connection on 24 November 2017. URL : http://quaternaire.revues.org/6060 ; DOI : 10.4000/quaternaire.6060

Top of page

About the authors

François Prognon

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex. Courriel: f.prognon@brgm.fr

By this author

Frédéric Lacquement

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

By this author

Caroline Ricordel-Prognon

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Florence Quesnel

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

By this author

Pierre Nehlig

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Serge Courbouleix

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Jean-Pierre Quinquis

BRGM GEO/CAR, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex.

Patricia Martin

BRGM GEO/CAR, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex.

Damien Rambourg

BRGM GEO/CAR, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex.

Patrick Lebret

BRGM REM/ECOM, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Top of page

Copyright

© Tous droits réservés

Top of page
  • Logo Association française pour l’étude du Quaternaire
  • Revues.org

Navigation – Plan du site

Regolith map of France

La carte du régolithe de France
François Prognon, Frédéric Lacquement, Caroline Ricordel-Prognon, Florence Quesnel, Pierre Nehlig, Serge Courbouleix, Jean-Pierre Quinquis, Patricia Martin, Damien Rambourg et Patrick Lebret
p. 357-362

Résumés

Le régolithe est défini comme l’ensemble des formations géologiques meubles ou consolidées dont la genèse ou les propriétés actuelles résultent de processus supergènes (interaction entre la lithosphère et l’atmosphère, l’hydrosphère et la biosphère), quel qu’en soit l’âge. Ces formations regroupent:
– des formations autochtones issues de processus d’altération supergènes (meubles ou consolidées), d’âge variable, situées dans la frange supérieure de l’écorce terrestre (200 premiers mètres) ;– des formations allochtones qui regroupent l’ensemble des dépôts sédimentaires issus de processus de remaniement et de transport et n’ayant pas subi de diagénèse d’enfouissement.
Les formations du régolithe sont le support de l’activité biologique dont les activités humaines. Elles sont la source de matériaux exploitables et forment le substrat des sols. Elles représentent donc un capital à gérer et à préserver. Historiquement, les cartes géologiques se sont focalisés sur la géologie du substratum. La connaissance que nous avons des formations du régolithe s’est considérablement accrue depuis les années 1980 grâce au levé des cartes géologiques de la France à l’échelle du 1/50 000e. Cependant, en regard de la pression sociétale, elle demeure inégale et incomplète. Une remise à jour des cartes du régolithe est aujourd’hui nécessaire. La production d’une carte des formations du régolithe à l’échelle de la France est un projet ambitieux qui débute par un inventaire des données géologiques cartographiques disponibles. Une carte numérique à deux couches des formations du régolithe de la France à l’échelle du millionième a donc été produite en 2009. Chaque couche est accompagnée d’une carte de qualité de la donnée. Une brève description des formations cartographiées est également disponible. Une analyse critique des deux cartes souligne l’hétérogénéité de notre connaissance aussi bien en terme de quantité et que de qualité de la donnée. L’analyse met également en évidence l’insuffisance de notre connaissance en regard des attentes de nos tutelles. Il est aujourd’hui important de développer des études sur la thématique des formations de surface en combinant géologie, géophysique et géochimie et ce afin d’améliorer notre compréhension des processus naturels gouvernant la distribution et l’évolution des formations qui sont le substrat de nos activités. Cette approche est aujourd’hui critique pour guider nos tutelles dans l’utilisation et la gestion de nos ressources. Les cartes peuvent être consultées et interrogées sur le site http://infoterre.brgm.fr. Les fichiers pdf des cartes et du rapport attaché peuvent être téléchargé à l’adresse suivante: http://www.brgm.fr/brgm/GEO/rego.htm.

Haut de page

Entrées d’index

Haut de page

Pour citer cet article

Référence papier

François Prognon, Frédéric Lacquement, Caroline Ricordel-Prognon, Florence Quesnel, Pierre Nehlig, Serge Courbouleix, Jean-Pierre Quinquis, Patricia Martin, Damien Rambourg et Patrick Lebret, « Regolith map of France », Quaternaire, vol. 22/4 | 2011, 357-362.

Référence électronique

François Prognon, Frédéric Lacquement, Caroline Ricordel-Prognon, Florence Quesnel, Pierre Nehlig, Serge Courbouleix, Jean-Pierre Quinquis, Patricia Martin, Damien Rambourg et Patrick Lebret, « Regolith map of France », Quaternaire [En ligne], vol. 22/4 | 2011, mis en ligne le 01 décembre 2014, consulté le 24 mars 2017. URL : http://quaternaire.revues.org/6060 ; DOI : 10.4000/quaternaire.6060

Haut de page

Auteurs

François Prognon

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex. Courriel: f.prognon@brgm.fr

Articles du même auteur

Frédéric Lacquement

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Articles du même auteur

Caroline Ricordel-Prognon

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Florence Quesnel

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Articles du même auteur

Pierre Nehlig

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Serge Courbouleix

BRGM GEO/G2R, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Jean-Pierre Quinquis

BRGM GEO/CAR, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex.

Patricia Martin

BRGM GEO/CAR, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex.

Damien Rambourg

BRGM GEO/CAR, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex.

Patrick Lebret

BRGM REM/ECOM, BP 36009, F-45060 ORLÉANS cedex

Haut de page

Droits d’auteur

© Tous droits réservés

Haut de page
  • Logo Association française pour l’étude du Quaternaire
  • Revues.org